# Growth of Districts

### Notes

- (a) When new districts seem justified, their boundaries are determined by the Board of Directors of Rotary International on the advice of the districting committee of Rotary International
- (b) Abbreviations: Q. Queensland; N.S.W. New South Wales; V. Victoria; T. Tasmania; S.A. South Australia; W.A. Western Australia; A.C.T. Federal Capital Territory.
  - (c) Date year of club's formal admission to Rotary International.

Clubs founded 1921-27 before district system

- Q. Brisbane, 1923; Rockhampton, 1926; Mackay, 1926; Townsville, 1926.
- N.S.W. Sydney, 1921; Newcastle, 1923; Parramatta 1926; Albury, 1927; Wollongong, 927.
- V. Melbourne, 1921; Ballarat, 1925; Bendigo, 1925; Geelong, 1925.
- T. Hobart, 1924; Launceston, 1924.
- S.A. Adelaide, 1924.
- W.A. Perth 1927.

#### 192

District 65 for the whole of Australia was formed on September 15, 1927, including all the above clubs and Canberra, 1928.

#### 1930

New District 76 founded.

District 65: South Australia, Western Australia, Victoria, Tasmania, Northern Territory, the city of Broken Hill and New South Wales south of the Murrumbidgee River.

New District 76: Queensland, New South Wales north of the Murrumbidgee River, and the Federal Territory  $-\ 13$  clubs.

#### 1938

New District 56: northern N.S.W. and Queensland. From 1930 to 1938 clubs in Australia had increased from 31 to 65 with 2,854 members, expansion being particularly strong in country towns of N.S.W.

District 65: Area as before.

District 76: Federal Territory, and N.S.W. north of the Murrumbidgee up to about Grafton

New District 56: Queensland and northern N.S.W. (previously part of District 76) -14 clubs.

## 1938

New District 64 formed, taking in the western half of Victoria, South and Western Australia — 23 clubs.

District 65 retained two clubs in southern N.S.W., two in Tasmania and nine in Victoria.

District 56: Area as before - 26 clubs.

District 76: Area as before - 50 clubs.

### 1938

New District 87 with 22 clubs for the northern half of N.S.W. from about Newcastle, excluding the north-eastern corner of Grafton to the Queensland border, detached from District 76.

District 76 retained the area from south of Newcastle to the Murrumbidgee with 35 clubs

SEVENTY FIVE YEARS OF SERVICE

# 1949 (July)

Districts were renumbered: No. 65 became No. 28; No. 76 became No. 29; No. 56 became No. 31; No. 87 became No. 32; and No. 64 became No. 33.

#### 1951

New District 30 with 19 clubs. N.S.W. from central tableland around Parkes and Orange to a line north of the Murray River and including the Capital Territory, detached from Districts 28 and 29.

District 29 (formerly 65) surrendered some territory in N.S.W. south of the Murrumbidgee and retained 33 clubs.

District 29 (formerly 76) in N.S.W. retained 33 clubs.

New District 34 for Western Australia with 12 clubs was detached from District 33 (formerly 64).

# 1953

District 31 (originally 56) for the whole of Queensland was divided into two parts:

- (a) District 31 for Queensland north from about Gympie with 23 clubs.
- (b) District 35 for Queensland south of Gympie and north-eastern N.S.W. with 24 clubs.

Note: Queensland was thus divided into northern and southern parts of which District 35 covered the main part of the original District 56.

#### 1957

Renumbering of the eight above districts (clockwise from northern part of Oueensland):

District	Previous Numbering	Past of Original District in 1946	States involved
255	31	5 6	Q.
260	3 5	5 6	Q. and N.S.W.
265	3 2	76	N.S.W.
275	29	76	N.S.W.
270	3 0	76	N.S.W. and A.C.T.
280	28	65	N.S.W., V. and T.
250	3 3	6 4	V. and S.A.
245	3 4	6 5	W.A.

### 1958

New District 282 with 31 clubs Tasmania and Victoria from Frankston through Gippsland. (previously past of District 280).

### 1959

New District 267 with 27 clubs north-eastern area of N.S.W. from Port Macquarie to just south of Grafton (previously part of District 265).

This was detached from District 265

### 1961

New District 268 with 30 clubs in the area west of Sydney and the Blue Mountains.

This was detached from District 275 which previously stretched from south of Newcastle, through Sydney and down the south coast extending west into the Blue Mountains.

### 1965

New District 278 with 33 clubs Western Victoria and south-eastern corner of South Australia.

This was detached from District 250 previously covering western Victoria and South Australia.

#### 1969

Papua New Guinea included in District 260 (i.e. Queensland in Brisbane area) instead of District 265 as formerly since 1968.

#### 1970

New District 263 with 43 clubs on both sides of the N.S.W.-Queensland border. Definition — parts of Queensland and N.S.W.

This took in territory from District 260 and 265.

From this point the number of clubs in each new district is not given.

#### 1970

New Districts 246, 279 and 283.

District 246, Western Australia, formerly part of District 245, thus dividing the State into two districts.

District 279, taking in parts of Districts 270 and 280, New South Wales and Victoria.

District 283, being the whole of Tasmania.

#### 197

New District 269, taking in the southern and western part of District 268, including the cities of Parramatta, Liverpool and the Blue Mountains.

#### 1977

All districts renumbered with the 9 in place of 2 prefix.

New districts 952 and 971.

District 952, separated from Districts 950 in South Australia and extending into western New South Wales and Oueensland.

District 971, Australian Capital Territory and part of New South Wales to the South Coast.

#### 107

New District 957, North Queensland, separated from 955, taking in clubs in the southern half of the district

#### 198

New Districts 964 and 981.

District 964 taking in parts of south eastern Queensland and Northern New South Wales, formerly in Districts 963 and 965.

District 981 South Eastern Victoria separated from Districts 980 and 982.

### 1985

New District 947, Western Australia, separated from District 945 and 946.

### 199

All districts re-numbered by adding a nought to the number; thus Australian districts are numbered 9450, 9460, 9500, 9520 (etc., numbered through to 9830).